KTM Race Report From Sumter

Bobbitt Finishes 2nd at Opening National Enduro

Wedgefield, SC – FMF KTM Factory Team rider Russell Bobbitt narrowly missed out on the win at the opening round of the AMA National Enduro Series, finishing 2nd by a margin of 19 seconds. His teammate, Charlie Mullins, finished 8th in his first National Enduro back in just shy of two years while Kacy Martinez took a 2nd place result in the Women’s class.

It was Mullins who claimed the win in the opening test of the Sumter Enduro. Despite breaking his foot two weeks ago, Mullins seemed to have a flawless ride in the first test. Bobbitt also put in a good time finishing 3rd. Bobbitt would continue to tick off consistent times finishing 3rd in 4 of the 6 special tests to place him in 2nd overall at the end of the event.

Bobbitt reported, “I’m glad to get a podium at the first round. My bike was set-up perfect today for the conditions. I just needed a little more time at the end. Overall, I felt good and am looking forward to battling for the win at round 2.”

After winning the first test, Mullins was held up by a lapper in the second test and crashed in the third test which dropped him in the overall standings. His foot began to give him pain in the final three tests which caused him to finish outside the top ten in overall times. “I am happy to be back to the racing scene,” stated Mullins. “It felt good to get that first test win and see where I stack up. Now I know where I need to improve and I am looking forward to coming back stronger each round.”

Martinez won the first two tests in the women’s class in only her second-ever National Enduro. From that point, the tests got more technical and she struggled adjusting to the tight conditions. “These races are really tight through the trees and I am learning to adjust to it and see how fast I can go. I am looking forward to learning more at each round as I fight for this championship.”  

Next Event: March 20, 2016 – Maplesville, AL

Overall Results –

  1. Grant Baylor
  2. Russell Bobbitt – KTM
  3. Jesse Groemm
  4. Steward Baylor – KTM
  5. Andrew DeLong
  6. Chris Bach
  7. Josh Strang