Bobbitt, Fahringer & Bakken At The Gobbler Getter









Maplesville, Alabama, (November 4, 2012) – Russell Bobbitt closed out the 2012 AMA Rekluse National Enduro Series with a well-deserved victory – his first of the year – at the season finale in Maplesville, Alabama, holding off a late charge by Husaberg’s Nick Fahringer to take the win by a 24-second margin.

After suffering through what he described as a “tough” year, Bobbitt turned it all around at the Alabama race, winning three of the last five tests after getting off to a relatively slow start in the opening test. With the win, the FMF/KTM rider finished out the 2012 standings in third place overall.  

“It feels good to finally get the win,” said Bobbitt. “We made several changes to the bike and I think it made a difference. I felt better on the bike and I was able to flow through the sections a little better.”

Fahringer won two tests en route to a second-straight runner-up finish, and ended the season on a high note after struggling all year to match his three-win performance at the end of last year.

“Obviously I’m disappointed that I didn’t get a win this year, but I felt like I proved myself at the end of the year,” said Fahringer. “The pressure was off today and I just went out and had a good time and I ended up riding a good race.”

Brad Bakken edged Husaberg’s Michael Lafferty by 14 seconds to claim the final podium spot, the Obermeyer Yamaha/Offroadvikings/Raines Racing-backed rider capitalizing on a quick start that saw him win the first test of the day. Bakken lost considerable time in the second test when he got hung up with two slower riders, but fast times in the final two tests enabled the Virginia rider to pull back ahead of Lafferty at the finish.

 Lafferty finished out the day in fourth overall on a 2013 Husaberg, while New Jersey KTM rider Jesse Groemm rounded out the top five. Groemm also finished out the year as the top-finishing rookie Pro.

Airgroup Radiant Racing’s Shane Hufford was sixth on the day, while KTM rider Grant Baylor and FAR Husqvarna’s Andrew DeLong were seventh and eighth.

Aussie off-roader Geoff Braico matched his best finish of the year in ninth, beating out Colorado KTM rider Ian Blythe.

Newly crowned series champ Stu Baylor broke his collarbone in a practice crash on the Thursday before the Alabama race and ended up watching the race from the sidelines.

In the 2012 final standings, Baylor finished out the year with a total of 242 points, with Lafferty ending the year in second with 207. Bobbitt was third overall for the year with 167 points, while Fahringer and Groemm rounded out the top five overall with 146 and 130 points, respectively.

For more information on the AMA Rekluse National Enduro Series and to view the 2013 schedule, visit


1. Russell Bobbitt (KTM)

2. Nick Fahringer (Hsb)

3. Brad Bakken (Yam)

4. Michael Lafferty (Hsb)

5. Jesse Groemm (KTM)

6. Shane Hufford (Hsb)

7. Grant Baylor (KTM)

8. Andrew DeLong (Hsq)

9. Geoff Braico (KTM)

10. Ian Blythe (KTM)