DeLong Takes The Championship, Bobbitt Wins at National Enduro Finale!



Sunday, September 14, 2014

After a season that definitely had its ups and downs, Factory Husqvarna racers ended the 2014 National Enduro Series on a resoundingly high note, with Andrew DeLong capturing the championship, and Russell Bobbitt taking the overall win at the series finale! The Husqvarna duo blitzed their way through the "epic conditions" at the Muddobbers National Enduro in Matthews, Indiana, and both finished on the overall podium with Bobbitt on the top step and DeLong in third.

All Andrew DeLong needed was a 13th place finish to wrap up the title, but he didn't come to Indiana to take it easy. "I wanted to win!" Andrew said with a laugh. "I was pretty nervous. My stomach was upset in the morning and I couldn't eat anything. I was pretty tough on myself in the first tests. I wasn't riding well – just making little stupid mistakes. It wasn't the day I wanted to have."

Fortunately, a chat with Husqvarna Off-road Team Manager Andy Jefferson helped him keep things in perspective. "He crashed in every test at least twice," Jefferson recalled. "We told him to calm it down and pull it together. After that he ended up going even faster."

CAPTION: Andrew DeLong and the Factory Husqvarna team celebrate the 2014 AMA National Enduro Championship. Photo by Shan Moore

DeLong's teammate Russell Bobbitt also made steady progress throughout the day, moving into the overall lead in the last two tests. "Mike [Lafferty] got out to a great start, but I just chipped away at his time," Bobbitt said. "The conditions were so good – you just wanted to keep leaning the bike over. The club did a great job with lots of good, flowy single-track. I kept picking up the pace as the day went on. In the end, it was great to have Andrew win the championship, and for me to come back and get a win this year."

As for taking his career-first AMA Championship, and hoisting Husqvarna back to the top in National Enduro, Andrew DeLong is incredibly gratified by it all.

"I honestly don't think it's sunk in yet," Andrew said. "It's amazing. I've been riding Huskys for four years and I hope I can continue my career with them for a long time. Winning the championship is incredible. It was also good to see Russell come back and have the speed to be up front. It was awesome to see the Husqvarna brand kick butt today!"

Not only did the podium boast two Husqvarna motorcycles, but fellow Airgroup Radiant Racing Husqvarna riders Nick Fahringer and Ryder Lafferty also put their Husky machines inside the top-ten. Lafferty was followed in overall standings by Andrew's brother Craig DeLong, who topped the Expert-AA class ahead of Zach Klamfoth – making for a total of 6 Husky riders in the top-12 at the Indiana National Enduro.

Husqvarna Off-road Team Manager Andy Jefferson agreed that the day couldn't have gone much better. "We're so impressed with Andrew; he really came through this year. We're also thrilled to celebrate a win with Russell Bobbitt before the season ended. All our guys have worked so hard this season, and it's all worth it when we can make history for Husqvarna Motorcycles."


CAPTION: In conditions he described as "epic," Russell Bobbitt rode to a strong overall win at the Moddobbers National Enduro in Matthews, Indiana. Photo by Shan Moore

Muddobber National Enduro Overall Results
1. Russell Bobbitt (Husqvarna)
2. Mike Lafferty
3. Andrew DeLong (Husqvarna)
4. Grant Baylor
5. Brad Bakken
6. Nick Fahringer (Husqvarna)
7. Cory Buttrick
8. Paddy Holloway
9. Jesse Groemm
10. Ryder Lafferty (Husqvarna)
11. Craig DeLong (Husqvarna)
12. Zach Klamfoth (Husqvarna)

AMA National Enduro Series Final Points Standings
1. Andrew DeLong (212/2 wins) Husqvarna
2. Gesse Groemm (181/1 win)
3. Grant Baylor (180/1 win)
4. Brad Bakken (172/1 win)
5. Nick Fahringer (167) Husqvarna
6. Mike Lafferty (147)
7. Steward Baylor (127)
8. Charles Mullins (120/4 wins)
9. Ryder Lafferty (103) Husqvarna
10. Cory Buttrick (92)


The all-new 2014 Husqvarna Motorcycles are here.

Find an authorized Husqvarna Motorcycles dealer near you and check out the all-new 2014 FC, FE, TC, and TE motocross and off-road motorcycles.

New-Generation Husqvarna Motorcycles Dealers by state

Husqvarna Motorcycles. Tradition on two wheels since 1903.

Husqvarna Motorcycles are widely known and respected in the off-road world for a heritage of competition and numerous motocross and enduro world championships. Originally founded in Sweden in 1903, Husqvarna Motorcycles have been designed and manufactured in Mattighofen, Austria since 2013.

Husqvarna Motorcycles North America, Inc.

Husqvarna has continued to expand its professional race team to compete in the AMA National Enduro, GNCC, AMA EnduroCross, OMA Nationals, AMA West Hare Scrambles Series and AMA National Hare & Hound championship series. Husqvarna team riders compete aboard 2014 Husqvarna FC 450, FE 350, TC 250 and TE 300 off-road models.