Husaberg Race Report

 Lafferty Earns 2nd at Cajun National Enduro

Forest Hill, LA – Factory Husaberg rider Mike Lafferty put in a remarkable ride at the fifth round of the AMA National Enduro Series where he earned 2nd overall after a close battle for the lead position throughout the race. His teammate Nick Fahringer earned 6th overall.

Lafferty, who had completely revamped his training program for 2012, came to the Louisiana race course ready to give point’s leader Steward Baylor a run for his money. Lafferty started off well taking the third fastest time in the first section, but knew he needed to pick up his pace in order to challenge for the win.

In the next test he proved he had the speed to run with the best and took the win in that special test. He finished third in the next test and followed that with the fastest time in the fourth section. In the final two tests he was able to finish second and was just barely edged out by Baylor for the win. Lafferty’s second place result at this round helped move him up in the point standings. He now sits 32 points down from Baylor in the championship standings.

“It was a really challenging race,” remarked Lafferty. “This was the first race of the year with really hot weather conditions and that took a toll on a few riders. I was happy that my hard work has paid off and I was able to challenge for the win today. My goal is to get a win this season as it will mark my 70th National Enduro win.”

His teammate, Nick Fahringer, had a decent ride at the Cajun Enduro. Fahringer earned three top five special test results and was able to secure 6th place overall.

Next Race: Upton, WY – June 17, 2012

Overall Results –

1.         Steward Baylor

2.         Mike Lafferty – HSB

3.         Andrew Delong

4.         Jesse Groemm 

5.         Russell Bobbitt 

6.         Nick Fahringer – HSB

7.         Shane Hufford

8.         Brad Bakken

9.         Cole Kirkpatrick 

10.       Kyle McDonal – HSB


Series Point Standings –

1.         Steward Baylor – 145

2.         Mike Lafferty – 113

3.         Russell Bobbitt – 92