Husaberg Race Report From Sumter

Lafferty/Click to enlarge/Shan Moore photoLafferty Earns 2nd at Opening AMA National Enduro

SUMTER, SC – Husaberg Factory rider Mike Lafferty put together a strong showing at the opening round of the AMA National Enduro Series with a 2nd place finish.

Lafferty rode strong throughout the entirety of the race. He finished 3rd and 2nd in the first two special tests respectively and came out on top with a win in the third test. “The course conditions were decent and suited my style,” remarked Lafferty. The race was comprised of six special tests which mostly consisted of sandy terrain. Luckily, rain the week prior to the event had kept the ground rather moist and helped control potential dust problems.

In six tests, Lafferty only fell outside of the top three on one test. He made a brief mistake in the fourth test and finished 4th fastest in that section. He rebounded quickly and took the win in the fifth test and finished 2nd in the sixth test. His consistency paid off and awarded him the runner-up position at the opening round.

“I am very excited with my result today,” stated Lafferty. “It’s great to know that my hard work has paid off and I was running the lead pace.” Lafferty finished 40 seconds behind race winner Steward Baylor and a minute ahead of the 3rd place rider, Charlie Mullins.

Lafferty’s teammate, Nick Fahringer, finished the opening round in 13th position after struggling with his fitness throughout some of the longer test sections. Fahringer has been off the bike for four months recovering from an ACL injury. His strongest test was the third test where he finished 8th. “I am definitely upset that I wasn’t closer to the top runners,” mentioned Fahringer. “But I am glad to get through the first round and finish without injury. I have a few weeks before the next round and I know everyday on the bike will help my progress. It’s going to be a long road to recovery but I am excited to work toward the goal of getting back on the podium.”


Next Round: Greensboro, GA – February 19, 2012


Overall Results –

1) Steward Baylor – KTM

2) Mike Lafferty – HSB

3) Charlie Mullins – KTM

4) Cory Buttrick – KTM

5) Brad Bakken – YAM

6) Russell Bobbitt – KTM

7) Jordan Ashburn – YAM

8) Andrew Delong – HSQ

9) Jason Raines – YAM

10) Jesse Groehm – KTM

11) Jesse Robinson – HSB

12) Grant Baylor – KTM

13) Nick Fahringer – HSB

14) Chris Bach – BET

15) Cole Kirkpatrick – KTM