Husaberg Race Report From The Cherokee


Fahringer and Bobbitt finish 2nd and 3rd at the Cherokee National Enduro

Greensboro, GA – Husaberg riders Nick Fahringer and Russell Bobbitt finished 2nd and 3rd respectively at the opening round of the AMA National Enduro Series hosted by the Cherokee Cycle Club.


The cold temperatures and slick course did not deter the two Husaberg riders from turning impressive times throughout the six special tests. Fahringer finished 2nd in the first two tests, 3rd in test number three and then won the fourth test. He took the momentum of his win in the fourth section to finish 2nd in the next test and again take a win in the final test to put his Husaberg TE 300 in contention for the win. Despite winning the final test session, he came up just 39 seconds short of the win. Bobbitt, who collected a win in the fifth test, continued to get stronger as the day progressed and was able to move up to podium position by the end of the day.


The third member of the Husaberg squad, 8-time National Enduro Champion, Mike Lafferty, struggled early on which keep him out of the podium fight. Lafferty was able to bounce back in the final tests to finish 5th overall for the day.


“We are very proud of our Husaberg riders today,” commented Husaberg Factory Team Manager Antti Kallonen. “Fahringer rode a strong race as did Bobbitt. Lafferty was slightly off-pace today but we know he will use this as motivation to come back stronger for the next race. We are glad to have three riders in the top five and we are looking forward to a successful season.”


Next Event: Salley, SC – March 3, 2013


Overall Results –

  1. Charlie Mullins
  2. Nick Fahringer – HSB
  3. Russell Bobbitt – HSB
  4. Brad Bakken
  5. Mike Lafferty – HSB
  6. Jesse Groemm
  7. Andrew Delong
  8. Grant Baylor
  9. Shane Hufford
    10. Thad Duvall