KTM Race Report From Ohio

Click to enlarge / Shan Moore photoButtrick Podiums at Chandlersville National Enduro

Factory FMF/KTM Team rider Cory Buttrick was the top finishing KTM at the ninth round of the AMA National Enduro Series held in Chandlersville, OH with a 3rd place overall result.

Buttrick ran a tight battle with his teammate Charlie Mullins throughout all six tests. Husaberg rider Nick Fahringer won the first test section but had a poor second test score which moved Buttrick and Mullins back into the mix. By the third test, Thad Duvall had also worked his way toward the top three and it became a four-way battle for the top spot. Mullins turned the fast time in four of the six tests, tying for the lead in the second with teammate Russell Bobbitt and in the third with Fahringer.

Heading into the final round, Mullins held the lead by eight seconds over Buttrick. When Mullins got held up by a few lappers in the final test it allowed the other three in contention to gain time on him. At the final score marker it was Fahringer who turned in the fastest time to earn the win by just one second on Duvall. Buttrick would take home 3rd for the day while Mullins final test score dropped him back to 4th place and Bobbitt rounded out the top five.

“It’s disappointing to lead a race heading into the final section and walk away outside the top three. I felt like I was having a good run today and was looking forward to making up some points but I struggled with lappers in the final test and lost a lot of time to the front runners,” remarked Mullins.

With only one round left there is just two points separating Mullins and Bobbitt at the top spot in the Championship points. “All my championships seem to come down to the final race. I was really hoping to perform well here today in order to increase the points gap but breaking my brake pedal off in the third test cost me a lot of time,” remarked Bobbitt. “I just need to focus on not making mistakes and avoiding crashes in the final round.”


Next Round: October 1, 2011 – Matthews, IN


Overall Results –

1)    Nick Fahringer – Husaberg

2)    Thad Duvall – Yamaha

3)    Cory Buttrick – KTM

4)    Charlie Mullins – KTM

5)    Russell Bobbitt – KTM

6)    Mike Lafferty – Husaberg

7)    Shane Hufford – KTM

8)    Andrew Delong – KTM

9)    Joshua Gaitten – KTM

10) Zach Klamfoth – KTM


Overall Point Standings –

1)    Charlie Mullins – 210

2)    Russell Bobbitt – 209

3)    Nick Fahringer – 198

4)    Cory Buttrick – 181

5)    Mike Lafferty – 144