KTM Race Report From The Jack Pine

Click To Enlarge / Shan Moore PhotoBobbitt and Mullins Podium at Jack Pine National Enduro

Factory FMF/KTM riders Russell Bobbitt and Charlie Mullins podium at the seventh round of the AMA National Enduro Series held in Moorestown, MI after battling through six special tests in the hot and humid weather.

Bobbitt and Mullins ran at the top of the leader board throughout the day. Mullins led the way from the first test after turning in a time 17 seconds faster than the next closest competitors which were his teammate Bobbitt and Husaberg’s Nick Fahringer.

Bobbitt put on a charge in the second test to earn the fast time, and in so doing, gained 13 seconds back on Mullins. Fahringer finished 2nd during this test also shortening the gap between the top three.

The next three tests were won by Fahringer with Bobbitt and Mullins finishing closely behind. Bobbitt actually tied Fahringer for the fast time in the fifth section. In a last minute effort to try and regain the lead, Bobbitt put in a remarkable final test besting Fahringer’s time by 17 seconds but it was not strong enough to take over the lead. Fahringer went on to take his first career win, followed by Bobbitt in 2nd and Mullins in 3rd. The third member of the FMF/KTM Team, Cory Buttrick, went on to finish 4th overall while Husaberg rider Mike Lafferty finished 5th for the day.

With seven rounds in the books, Bobbitt holds the points lead by 6 points over Mullins as they break for two weeks before the eighth round which will take place on July 31, 2011 in Cross Fork, PA.

Overall Results –

1)    Nick Fahringer

2)    Russell Bobbitt – KTM

3)    Charlie Mullins – KTM

4)    Cory Buttrick – KTM

5)    Mike Lafferty

6)    Shane Hufford – KTM

7)    Andrew Delong – KTM

8)    Zach Klamfoth – KTM

9)    Thad Duvall

10) Aaron Wegner


Overall Point Standings –

1)    Russell Bobbitt – 177

2)    Charlie Mullins – 171

3)    Cory Buttrick – 142

4)    Nick Fahringer – 138

5)    Mike Lafferty – 104