KTM Race Report From WY

Bobbitt Earns 2nd at Inyan Kara National Enduro

Upton, WY – Factory FMF/KTM rider Russell Bobbitt earned an impressive 2nd place overall result at the sixth round of the AMA National Enduro Series put together by the Inyan Kara Motorcycle Club.

The course conditions were quite dusty given the dry weather and created a problem for many riders as they fell upon lappers late in the tests. Luckily, Bobbitt was able to avoid many of them in the first three special tests where he finished with a top three lap time each test.

“I was happy to get good test scores in the first three tests but wish I could have picked up a few more seconds. I feel like I lost a lot of time in those first sections and that is what kept me from challenging for the win,” remarked Bobbitt.

Bobbitt only fell outside of the top three in special tests scores once throughout the day during the 4th test; however, his test score was still strong enough to keep in the podium hunt. In the fifth test Bobbitt picked up the pace and put together an impressive ride in the most challenging test of the day to finish with the 2nd fastest time. Heading to the sixth test, only 1 second separated Bobbitt from Nick Fahringer whom he was battling for 2nd position. Bobbitt laid the hammer down and turned the fastest time in the final section to claim the runner-up spot on the podium.

“I really like this race and I tend to do well at this event. I am happy to be on the podium and glad I could get that last section win. That section is where I was able to win the race last year so I am glad I was able to use my speed in that section to my advantage again to help secure my 2nd place finish,” reported Bobbitt.

Bobbitt’s 2nd place finish improves his position in the overall point standings. He now sits in 3rd place overall in the championship points.

Series point leader, Steward Baylor, returned to racing this weekend after having wrist surgery only a few weeks back. Despite having some pain from his wrist, he was able to finish inside the top five. His 5th place finish allowed him to maintain his points lead heading to the next round.

Next Event: July 29, 2012 – Cross Fork, PA

Overall Results –

1. Mike Lafferty

2. Russell Bobbitt – KTM

3. Nick Fahringer

4. Shane Hufford

5. Steward Baylor – KTM

6. Ian Blythe – KTM

7. Andrew Delong

8. Jesse Groemm – KTM

9. Cole Kirkpatrick – KTM

10. Brad Bakken


Overall Point Standings –

1. Steward Baylor – 161

2. Mike Lafferty – 143

3. Russell Bobbitt – 117