Lafferty Gets His 70th Win At The Inyan Kara

Lafferty Wins Wyoming Enduro

Upton, WY, (June 17, 2012) – Michael Lafferty claimed his first national win since early 2010 at today’s Inyan Kara National Enduro in Upton, Wyoming, round six of the AMA/Rekluse National Enduro Series, topping defending series champ Russell Bobbitt by 15 seconds to do so.

Lafferty got off to a great start in the fast but challenging high desert terrain by winning the first three tests of the six-test race and opening up a small lead over fellow Husaberg rider Shane Hufford and Bobbitt.


Hufford continued to ride strong and surprised many by winning the fourth test of the day, however, Bobbitt and Husaberg’s Nick Fahringer picked up the pace in the final three tests and dropped Hufford to fourth overall after Fahringer won the fifth test and Bobbitt won test six.

In the end, Bobbit managed to edge Fahringer for second place in the day, finishing 15 seconds ahead of the Ohio rider. 

Series points leader Stu Baylor managed a fifth place finish, despite recently having surgery to pin his right hand, which the RidePG KTM rider broke just a few weeks before.

Colorado KTM rider Ian Blythe made a rare appearance in the series to finish sixth, beating out FAR Husqvarna’s Andrew DeLong for the spot.

New Jersey’s Jesse Groem put his KTM into the eighth spot ahead of Texan Cole Kirkpatrick (KTM) and Obermeyer Yamaha/Raines Riding University/Offroadviking’s Brad Bakken.

Starting the second half of the series, Baylor holds an 18-point advantage over Lafferty, 161 to 143, with four rounds remaining. Bobbitt is third in the standings at 118, while Cory Buttrick (91) and Fahringer (85) round out the top five.

The Rekluse AMA National Enduro series resumes on July 29th in Cross Fork, Pennsylvania with round seven of the series.