Mullins Takes The Cow Bell

Click To Enlarge MOORESTOWN, MI, JULY 25 - Charlie Mullins can now add one of the most prestigious off-road event events in to country to his growing list of accomplishments after winning this year’s Jack Pine Enduro – round eight of the Rekluse/AMA National Enduro Series. Held annually in Moorestown, Michigan, this year marked the 85th running of the legendary event (it was held for the first time in 1923) and it awards a special travelling trophy to each year’s winner – a cowbell, which is passed on each year from winner to winner.


Despite the fact that he was riding the Jack Pine for the first time, Mullins took to the tight and sandy trails like a duck to water, winning five of the six tests and finishing the event with 36 seconds to spare over defending champ Russell Bobbitt.


The win was Mullins’ fifth in a row and sixth on the year and it boosted the Obermeyer/Am Pro/FMF Yamaha rider’s lead in the series standings to 29 points.


“It was a good day for me,” said Mullins. “It was pretty tight and the tests were short so there wasn’t much room for error, but this kind of stuff suits my style and I ended up having a good race.”


Mullins was pretty much perfect on the day except for a mishap in the fourth test, a nine-mile section, which was eventually won by Bobbitt.


“I got out of shape in the tight trees and I went down,” said Mullins. “I didn’t crash too hard but I stalled my bike and it took a while to get it going because it was so hot. But other than that one mistake it was a pretty solid day and I’m happy with it.”


Bobbitt’s second overall finish was his fourth such finish of the year, although he has finished off the podium twice due to a shoulder injury.


Meanwhile, Bobbitt’s the FMF/KTM teammate Cory Buttrick rounded out the podium, just edging out Husaberg’s Nick Fahringer with a strong final test.


Fahringer was fourth overall, 21 seconds behind Buttrick, while another Husaberg rider, Michael Lafferty, rounded out the top five.


With only two rounds left in the series, Mullins holds a safe lead over Buttrick, 198 points to 169, with Bobbitt sitting third with 167. The series resumes on August 22, in North Berwick, Maine.



1. Charlie Mullins (Yam)

2. Russell Bobbitt (KTM)

3. Cory Buttrick (KTM)

4. Nick Fahringer (Hsb)

5. Michael Lafferty (Hsb)

6. Brad Bakken (KTM)

7. Glen Kearney (Hus)

8. Cole Kirkpatrick (KTM)

9. Shane Hufford Jr. (KTM)

10. Zach Klamfoth (Yam)