Russell Takes First National Enduro Win In Missouri

Park Hills, MO (May 17, 2015) - It took a few races, but Kailub Russell finally got his first win in the Kenda AMA National Enduro Series after three-straight runner-up finishes. The FMF/KTM rider’s Victory came at the Lead Belt National Enduro, round five of the Kenda AMA National Enduro Series, held in St. Joe State Park south of Park Hills, Missouri.

Although the North Carolina rider is new to the series this year and has been adjusting to the new format, he was fast and sharp on the slippery Missouri single-track.

Russell set himself up nicely by winning the opening test of the day by 19 seconds over N-Fab/Am Pro Yamaha’s Grant Baylor, and then added wins in the second, fourth and fifth tests for good measure. Meanwhile, Baylor kept Russell honest by winning tests three and six.

In the end, Russell, who was riding the new 2015.5 250 SXF Factory Edition, took the overall win by one minute and thirty-seven seconds over Baylor, with Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Andrew DeLong finishing third, another minute and five seconds back.

“I got off to a good start and won the first test, but I’ve done that at all of the nationals so far and still came up short,” said Russell. “But today was good and the new bike is awesome. I love this bike and it goes a long ways when you’re having fun on the bike.”

Baylor was pleased with his runner-up finish, which kept him solidly in fourth overall in the series standings ahead of DeLong.

Fourth was Steward Baylor on the MotoTech KTM. The 2012 National Enduro champ had an off day, admitting he thought he was just pushing too hard, although he still remains in second overall in the standings, 23 points behind Russell.

Fifth went to four-time champ Russell Bobbitt, the FMF/KTM rider suffering from mishaps in the last two sections, which cost him time.

Sixth was another rookie to the series, pro motocrosserRyan Sipes, who was sitting in fourth on his AirGroup Racing Husqvarna mid-way into the race, but a poor time in test four dropped the Kentucky rider to sixth in the end.

Moto-Tech KTM’s Trevor Bollinger settled into seventh bythe end of the race, with Husqvarna-supported Craig DeLong in eighth.

Top Rekluse AA-Expert rider and ninth overall went to Evan Smith on a KTM, while N-Fab/Am Pro Yamaha’s Brad Bakken rounded out the top 10.

Behind Smith in the Rekluse AA-Expert was Kyle McDonal, in 12th overall, while third went to fellow KTM rider Drew Higgins.

The Kenda AMA National Enduro Series resumes on June 14th in Upton, Wyoming. For more information on the Kenda AMA National Enduro Series check out

1. Kailub Russell (KTM)
2. Grant Baylor (Yam)
3. Andrew DeLong (Hus)
4. Steward Baylor (KTM)
5. Russell Bobbitt (KTM)
6. Ryan Sipes (Hus)
7. Trevor Bollinger (KTM)
8. Craig DeLong (Hus)
9. Evan Smith (KTM)
10. Brad Bakken (Yam)